Blog Hero

What Are the 7 Stages of Lewy Body Dementia?

Schedule a Visit
An older man looks and points at a calendar on the wall, furrowing his brow in concentration.

Lewy body dementia (LBD) is a type of progressive dementia that affects the brain and causes problems with thinking, movement, behavior, and mood. It is caused by abnormal deposits of a protein called alpha-synuclein in the brain cells.

LBD has 7 stages, which are commonly used to describe how the disease progresses over time. These stages can help caregivers and healthcare professionals understand the severity of the disease and plan appropriate care for the person with LBD

The 7 stages of LBD include:

  • Stage 1: No cognitive impairment
  • Stage 2: Mild cognitive impairment
  • Stage 3: Early dementia 
  • Stage 4: Moderate dementia
  • Stage 5: Moderately severe dementia
  • Stage 6: Severe dementia
  • Stage 7: Very severe dementia

What Happens in Each Stage?

Stage 1

At this stage, the person does not show any signs of cognitive impairment. They may have some mild symptoms such as forgetfulness, difficulty concentrating, or occasional confusion.

Stage 2

In this stage, the person begins to experience mild cognitive impairment. They may have difficulty with memory and concentration and start to show signs of forgetfulness. Other symptoms may include changes in behavior and mood swings.

Stage 3

Early dementia starts to show in stage 3, with noticeable cognitive decline. The person may have difficulty with daily tasks and may struggle to remember recent events or conversations. They may also start to experience motor symptoms such as tremors or stiffness.

Stage 4

In this stage, the dementia becomes moderate, and the person’s memory and cognitive skills continue to decline. They may need help with daily activities and may have difficulty with problem-solving and decision-making.

Stage 5

Moderate to moderately severe dementia is characterized by significant cognitive decline. The person may need assistance with basic daily tasks such as bathing, dressing, and eating. They may also experience hallucinations or delusions.

Stage 6

Severe dementia makes it difficult for the person to communicate or perform any daily tasks without assistance. They may also experience changes in behavior, mood, and personality. Physical abilities may also decline at this stage.

Stage 7

At this final stage of dementia, the person is completely dependent on others for basic care and communication. They may have difficulty swallowing and become bedridden. In some cases, they may no longer be able to recognize loved ones or recall past memories.

An older man looks and points at a calendar on the wall, furrowing his brow in concentration.

The Level of Care Needed for Each Stage of Dementia

As dementia progresses, the level of care needed for a person also increases. In each stage, a person may require different levels of support and assistance from their caregivers.

Stage 1: No Care Needed

At this early stage, there is no noticeable decline in cognitive abilities, and a person can still function independently without any assistance.

Stage 2: Minimal Care Needed

In this stage, the person may start to experience subtle changes in memory and concentration, but they can still manage daily tasks with minimal help.

Stage 3: Moderate Care Needed

At this point, the individual may need some assistance with daily activities, and their cognitive decline becomes more evident. They may also require supervision for safety reasons.

Stage 4: Significant Care Needed

In this stage, the person’s cognitive decline becomes more noticeable, and they may need significant help with daily tasks. They may also experience behavioral changes that require extra support from caregivers.

Stage 5: Extensive Care Needed

As dementia progresses to this stage, the person’s cognitive abilities continue to decline, and they require extensive assistance with daily activities. They may also need specialized care to manage behavioral or physical symptoms.

Stage 6: Total Care Needed

At this stage, the person is dependent on others for aspects of daily living. They may have difficulty communicating and require round-the-clock care in a specialized senior living community.

Stage 7: Hospice Care

At the final stage of dementia, the individual may be bedridden and unable to communicate or recognize loved ones. Hospice care focuses on providing comfort and support for the person as well as their family and caregivers.

Compassionate Memory Care Services for Individuals with Dementia

Memory care services are specialized programs and communities that cater specifically to individuals with dementia. These services offer a safe and supportive environment for those with dementia while also providing them with activities and therapies designed to help maintain their cognitive abilities.

At Bellevue Village at Woodstock, we understand the challenges faced by individuals with dementia and offer compassionate memory care services to support them through every stage of their journey. Our staff is trained in dementia care and works closely with families to create a supportive and nurturing environment for our residents. 

We provide round-the-clock assistance with daily activities such as bathing, dressing, meal preparation, and medication management. Our goal is to promote a sense of autonomy and enhance the quality of life for our residents.Contact us today or schedule a visit to learn more. We are here to support both you and your loved one through this journey.

Written by admin

More Articles By admin
instagram facebook facebook2 pinterest twitter google-plus google linkedin2 yelp youtube phone location calendar share2 link star-full star star-half chevron-right chevron-left chevron-down chevron-up envelope fax